St. Cloud State to host 45th annual Holiday Inn/Husky Open on Dec. 12

#2 St. Cloud State is proud to host the 45th annual Holiday Inn and Suites Husky Open on Saturday, Dec. 12 in the Halenbeck Hall Fieldhouse. The Husky Open will feature many of the region’s top NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NJCAA programs and athletes. Tickets for this event may be purchased at the gate on the day of the tournament.

The teams scheduled to participate in the Husky Open this year include St. Cloud State, Minnesota, South Dakota State, North Dakota State, Southwest State, Wisconsin-Parkside, Augsburg, St. John’s, Ridgewater CC, Rochester CTC and Itasca CC.

For many years, this annual tournament featured a team tournament format. In 2006-07, the tournament changed to its current open format without team scores.

The Husky Open features two awards presented annually during the tournament. The award that is presented to the outstanding wrestler of the day is the John Oxton Award while the award presented to the wrestler with the most pins is the Jack Gause Award. Both awards are named after former SCSU wrestling coaches. St. Cloud State University wrestling would like to thank the St. Cloud Holiday Inn and Suites and All-Star Trophy for their support of this year’s Husky Open.

Complete results from this tournament will be available throughout the day on

Husky Open Record Book:

Click Here: United Kingdom Rugby Jerseys

John Oxton Award (MVP) Winners:
2006: Travis Elg, Minnesota State (141)
2007: Zach Sanders, Minnesota UA (125)
2008: Tad Merritt, SCSU (165)
2009: Tad Merritt, SCSU (165)
2010: Dylan Ness, UM (149)
2011: Tad Merritt, SCSU (174)
2012: Shamus O’Grady, SCSU (184)
2013: Chad Johnson, Augsburg (285)
2014: Clint Poster, SCSU (157)

Jack Gause Award (Most Pins) Winners:
2007: Phil Moenkedick, Concordia (174)
2008: Skip Johnson, Itasca C.C.
2009: Brady Wilson, Minnesota State (285)
2010: Sam Schad, Rochester (157)
2011: Jake Kahnke, SCSU (285) & Matt Wyss, Iowa Lakes CC (285)
2012: Shamus O’Grady, SCSU (184)
2013: Jarred Oftedahl, SCSU (125)
2014: Travis Holt, SCSU (157)

Husky Open Weight Class Champions (Open era only)

2006: Seth Flodeen (Augsburg UA)
2007: Zach Sanders (Minnesota UA)
2008: Cody Zimmerman (UW-Parkside)
2009: Chris Heilman (unattached)
2010: Alex Johnson (Indianapolis)
2011: Jordan Kingsley (Minnesota)
2012: Mike Fuenffinger (Augsburg)
2013: Mike Fuenffinger (Augsburg)
2014: Mike Fuenffinger (Augsburg)

2006: Jeff Pfaffinger (Minnesota State)
2007: Travis Lang (Augsburg)
2008: Travis Lang (Augsburg)
2009: Paul Bjorkstrand (Augsburg)
2010: Drew Lexvold (Minnesota)
2011: Zach Stewart (SCSU)
2012: Andy Pokorny (SCSU)
2013: Zach Stewart (SCSU)
2014: Jarred Oftedahl (SCSU)

2006: Travis Elg (Minnesota State)
2007: Travis Elg (Minnesota State)
2008: Travis Elg (Minnesota State)
2009: Gabe Suarez (SCSU)
2010: Nick Dardanes (Minnesota)
2011: Seth Lange (Minnesota)
2012: Trevor Johnson (Mary)
2013: Joe Munos (Rochester CC)
2014: Curt Zachmeier (SCSU)

2006: Jason Rhoten (Minnesota State)
2007: Wily Holst (Augsburg)
2008: Craig Becker (UW-Parkside)
2009: Trevor Kittleson (UNI)
2010: Dylan Ness (Minnesota)
2011: Tony Valek (Augsburg)
2012: Dan Argueta (UW-Parkside)
2013: Josh Howk (SCSU)
2014: Josh Howk (SCSU)

2006: Jeremy Anderson (Augsburg)
2007: Eddie Stefonek (UW-Parkside)
2008: Jason Adams (Augsburg)
2009: Jason Adams (Augsburg)
2010: Nick Warpole (Indianapolis)
2011: Tel Todd (Minnesota)
2012: Clint Poster (SCSU)
2013: Craig Brecker (Unattached)
2014: Clint Poster (SCSU)

2006: Scott Dorn (UW-LaCrosse)
2007: Kyle Becker (UW-Parkside)
2008: Tad Merritt (SCSU)
2009: Tad Merritt (SCSU)
2010: Tad Merritt (SCSU)
2011: Dan Dick (SCSU)
2012: Nick Fishback (UW-Parkside)
2013: Nick Fishback (UW-Parkside)
2014: Gabe Fogarty (SCSU)

2006: Josh Chelf (UW-LaCrosse)
2007: Kaleb Young (Minnesota – UA)
2008: Tim Matheson (Minnesota State)
2009: Luke Rynish (UW-Parkside)
2010: Zach Molitor (Augsburg)
2011: Tad Merritt (SCSU)
2012: Josh Kohler (Augsburg)
2013: Montrail Johnson (UW-Parkside)
2014: Nick Becker (UW-Parkside)

2006: Jason Lullof (Upper Iowa)
2007: Sonny Yohn (Minnesota – UA)
2008: Luke Munkelwitz (SCSU)
2009: Ryan Lader (UNI – UA)
2010: Aaron Norgren (Minnesota State)
2011: Joel Bauman (Minnesota)
2012: Shamus O’Grady (SCSU)
2013: Josh Anthony (UW-Parkside)
2014: Dylon Braun (SCSU)

2006: Ryan Phillips (Upper Iowa)
2007: Nick Wilkes (SCSU)
2008: Josh Holforty (UW-Eau Claire)
2009: Luke Munkelwitz (SCSU)
2010: Luke Munkelwitz (SCSU)
2011: Scott Schiller (Minnesota)
2012: Nick Wilkes (Unattached)
2013: Matthew Hechsel (Augsburg)
2014: Matthew Hechsel (Augsburg)

2006: Brady Wilson (Minnesota State)
2007: Brady Wilson (Minnesota State)
2008: Brady Wilson (Minnesota State)
2009: Brady Wilson (Minnesota State)
2010: Jake Kahnke (SCSU)
2011: Jake Kahnke (SCSU)
2012: Chad Johnson (Augsburg)
2013: Chad Johnson (Augsburg)
2014: Austin Goergen (SCSU)

View More College News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *