Daily Pro Wrestling History (01/02): Arn Anderson wins NWA TV title


Kansas City, Kansas:
– World Heavyweight Champion Orville Brown beat Bobby Bruns 2 out of 3 falls
– Ray Villmer beat Ernie Dusek 2 out of 3 falls
– Ed Virag defeated Karl Von Herbert 


Portland, Oregon:
– Herb Freeman and Henry Lenz defeated Kurt Von Himmler and Juan Oinada for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Titles

Kansas City, Kansas:
– World Champion Dick Hutton beat Thor Hagen 2 falls to 1 to retain the title
– Ronnie Etchison and Sonny Myers beat Lou Plummer and Tommy O’Toole 2 falls to 1
– Otto Von Krupp beat Bobby Bruns 


Atlanta, Georgia:
– Fred Blassie defeated Ray Gunkel to win the NWA Georgia Southern Heavyweight Title


Fargo, North Dakota:
– AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Moose Evans
– AWA Tag Team Champions Ivan Kalmikoff & Karol Kalmikoff beat Larry Hennig & Pepe Gonzales
– Karol Kalmikoff drew Pepe Gonzales


Waterloo, Iowa:
– Sonny Myers defeated Tom Clark for the Central States version of the NWA United States Heavyweight Title 


Dothan, Alabama:
– Dick Dunn defeated Rocket Monroe to win the NWA Alabama Heavyweight Title


Honolulu, Hawaii:
– Ripper Collins defeated Johnny Barend for the NWA Hawaii Heavyweight Title


St. Louis, Missouri:
– NWA Champion Terry Funk beat Pat O’Connor
– Dick the Bruiser & Rocky Johnson beat Ox Baker & Stan Stasiak
– Missouri State Champion Harley Race drew Rufus R Jones
– AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel no contest Joe Blanchard
– Jerry Oates beat Lord Alfred Hayes by DQ


Milwaukee, Wisconsin:
– Cage match: The Crusher beat Mad Dog Vachon
– Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell & Bill Francis beat Pierre Poisson & Moose Morowski & Baron Von Raschke
– Larry Hennig beat Bobby Duncum
– Roger Kirby beat Peter Maivia by DQ
– Chris Taylor beat Rodeo Jones


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Frankie Lane, The Medic, & Sonny King beat Plwoboy Frazier, Bearcat Brown, & Ed Fluckert
– Doug Gilbert beat David Schultz
– The Alaskan beat Robert Gibson
– North American Champ Mr. Wrestling beat Big Red
– Bill Dundee & Norvell Austin beat Phil Hickerson & Dennis Condrey to win the Southern Tag Team Title
– Jimmy Valiant (with Frankie Laine) beat Jerry Lawler (with Bill Dundee) in a “white flag” match


Tampa, Florida:
– Dick Slater defeated Jos LeDuc to win the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title 

St. Joseph, Missouri:
– Randy Alls (Randy Rose) defeated Dick Murdoch to win the NWA Central States Heavyweight Title 


San Francisco, California:
– Ox Baker defeated Bruiser Brody for the World Class American Heavyweight Title 


Orlando, Florida:
– Mike Graham and Barry Windham defeated The Cowboy Connection (Bobby Jaggers and R.T. Tyler) to win the NWA Florida Tag Team Title 


Hampton, Virginia:
– Jimmy Valiant defeated Ivan Koloff for the NWA Television Title 


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Jacques Rougeau defeated Sabu the Wildman (Coco Samoa) to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title 
– Bobby Eaton defeated Bobby Fulton
– Apocalypse and Jesse Barre defeated Dutch Mantel and King Cobra
– Terry Taylor regained the Southern Heavyweight title defeating Sees Brown Sugar
– The Fabulous Ones beat the Sheepherders in a polestrap match
– Bill Dundee and Jerry Calhoun defeated Adrian Street, Jimmy Cornette and Miss Linda in a handicap match


Kansas City, Kansas:
– The MOD Squad (Basher and Spike) defeated Todd Champion and Dave Peterson for the NWA Central States Tag Team Titles


Tokyo, Japan:
– Yoshiaki Yatsu & Jumbo Tsuruta beat Genichiro Tenryu & Ashara Hara
– Wajima beat Abdullah The Butcher by DQ
– John Tenta won battle royal
– Tiger Mask II (Misawa) beat AWA Champion Curt Hennig COR
– John Tenta & Great Kabuki beat Black Assassin & TNT
– Akira Taue & Shohei Giant Baba beat Buddy Landel & Paul Harris

Greensboro, North Carolina:
– Dick Murdoch pinned the Italian Stallion
– Brad Armstrong & Tim Horner defeated the Gladiators (sub. for Sean Royal & Chris Champion)
– The Sheepherders defeated Ricky Santana & Robert Gibson
– NWA Tag Team Champion Tully Blanchard defeated Jimmy Garvin in a Texas Death Match
– The Road Warriors defeated Ivan Koloff & the Warlord
– NWA US Champion Dusty Rhodes defeated Larry Zbyzsko via disqualification
– Lex Luger pinned NWA Tag Team Champion Arn Anderson
– NWA World Champion Ric Flair defeated Michael Hayes via disqualification


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Scott Steiner drew Don Bass
– Phil Hickerson beat Brian Lee
– Sylvia beat Candi Divine
– Wendell Cooley beat Sid Vicious
– Bill Dundee & Tracy Smothers beat Terrance Garvin & The Beast via DQ
– Ricky Morton & Jeff Jarrett beat Robert Fuller & Jimmy Golden via DQ
– Unified World Champ Jerry Lawler NC Dutch Mantel


Gainesville, Georgia:
– Arn Anderson defeated The Great Muta to win the NWA World Television Title


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Brian Christopher & Tony Williams drew Terrence Garvin & Alan Martin
– Willie B. Hert pinned The Green Scorpion
– Jerry Lawler pinned Black Magic
– Cody Michaels pinned Don Bass
– Danny Davis beat Joseph Magliano to win the USWA Junior Heavyweight Title in a “lumberjack” match
– Terrence Garvin, Alan Martin, & Joseph Magliano beat Brian Christopher, Tony Williams, & Danny Davis
– Jerry Lawler & Bam Bam Bigelow beat Willie B. Hert & Don Bass

Beaumont, Texas:
– The Junkyard Dog defeated Tugboat Taylor
– Ricky Morton & Tommy Rich defeated Buddy Landel & Dutch Mantell
– Brian Pillman defeated the Big Cat
– WCW TV Champion Tom Zenk defeated Bobby Eaton
– WCW US Tag Team Champions Rick & Scott Steiner defeated the Bill Irwin & Michael Hayes
– WCW US Champion Lex Luger defeated Sid Vicious


Bluefield, West Virginia:
– Brad Armstrong defeated GQ Stratus
– Van Hammer defeated Tony Atlas
– Steve Austin defeated WCW/NWA Tag Team Champion Shane Douglas
– Erik Watts defeated Paul Orndorff (sub. for WCW US Champion Rick Rude)
– Barry Windham defeated WCW/NWA Tag Team Champion Ricky Steamboat


Morresville, North Carolina:
– The Equalizer and George South defeated The Italian Stallion and Star Ryder to win the Pro Wrestling Federation Tag Team Championship


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Brian Christopher defeated Wolfie D to win the USWA Heavyweight Title


Tokyo, Japan:
– Yoshihiro Tajiri and Ryuji Yamakawa win the BJW Tag Team Title defeating Gedo and Jado


– Chris Sabin defeated Austin Aires to win the TNA X Division Title


Mexico City, Mexico:
– Mascara Dorada defeated Negro Casas Jr in a tournament final to win  the vacant CMLL welterweight title

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *